Things I Did in Cappadocia : Turkey Part 2


Traveling alone was not totally alone. Along the way, I found many people to be with. It was the same when you started a new school or moved to the new job. I couldn’t mingle to all of them, but still, I found some nice people that could be my nice partners during my journey.

After Istanbul, I was heading to Cappadocia or Kappadokya writen in Turkish. It means land of beautiful horses. I used travel packages from Overseas, one of travel agent in Istanbul. Umut, the officer was very informative and helpful. He also gave me his personal mobile number that I could call 24 hours during my trip.

The tour packages system in Istanbul is really organized. People came from different hotel, went to the same bus, went to different hotel, went to different destination and at the end back to the same places. However, the hectic schedules could be arranged. The complicated journey could be matched.

On Monday night, I was picked by transfer man from Over seas travel agent and dropped by him to the bus station, heading to Cappadocia. I met Malaysian girl, lives in Singapore named Yuan and she became my bus partner till we reach Urgup, the city where we’re going to spend the night in. In Urgup bus station, time still showed 07.30 in the morning, I said good bye to Yuan.
A man ages forty something was waiting for me and other two guys came from New Zealand (next time I knew them as Michael and Terry). He brought us to CappadociaPalace hotel to have our breakfast before joining the tour. At 9 am, we left hotel to explore the beauty of Cappadocia.

Camel and Napoleon Head in Devrant Valley

Our tour consists of many nationalities such as Indonesia, Japan, New Zealand, Australia, Brazil and Scotland. I met Julie, a very nice girl from New Zealand during this trip. She was photographer and also solo traveler like me. Once we met, we knew that we’re purposed to be partner in photography. At the other hand, I could say that she helped me to take my pictures, and I did the same for her.

Amazing. That’s the only words that I could give to describe Cappadocia. Hundred valleys with hundred astonished rocks. Starting from the shape of mushrooms, camel until head of Napoleon.

As me, you must be amazed how those stones have unique shapes. It came from volcanic eruption thousands years ago. In the years of Roman Empire, the Christians used this place to hideout. On this tour, we went to Gerome city , one of UNESCO Heritage site where we could see the hidden church used by Christians in Roman Empire era. The famous one is Apple church. To teach people, they drew some pictures inside the cave describes how the Christians live in. You will find the pictures of Jesus, Lukas and other important Christian features. I couldn’t take the pictures inside the church since it’s forbidden. Entering this church also need us to wait in the long queue for seeing five minutes inside.

I’m in Devrant Valley

 I’m at Monks Valley

Me and Julie (my photography partner)

After having lunch in the cave restaurant, Faith took us to the pot factory. He introduced us to the owner who showed us the process how to make a pot. In Cappadocia, it’s believed that a man should have ability to make a pot otherwise he couldn’t get married. After the show, the owner took us to look around the factory and the shop where they’re selling the products.

This Man Has Been Being a Pottery Maker for 35 Years

Some art crafts and souvenirs sold at the Pottery Factory

The next following day, I was picked up by the transfer man on 9 o’clock. Michael and Terry who also stayed in the same hotel with me, were there already. The people are still the same as yesterday. But our guide is replaced by young beautiful lady named Kezban.

Views and Balloons seen from my hotel

Kezban took us to Red Valley. It’s called red or rose valley since the rocks dominated by red colour. It’s also the start point for doing trekking through the valley. Along the way, we passed pigeon valley, some apricots seller, and of course the rocks, still with the unique formation. This trekking took one and half hour walking.

Red or Rose Valley

Here we are. The travellers in Cappadocia

Another sides of Cappadocia

Underground city is the other ‘the place you must visit’ in cappadocia. It was used as the settlement during the Byzantium period. There are hundreds underground city in cappadocia, which there are 40 are determined. However it is only six that are allowed to visit. The tunnels are so narrow, sometimes we had to get down to pass it. I’m clautrophobia. But, the willing to see how underground city can’t stop me to see how wonderful it is.

Kezban (out tour guide) and Underground City

I’m in Underground City

The last stop, Kezban brought us to Onyx factory. there, we saw how the onyx rocks are shaped and be processed to become acessories, craft, glass, souvenirs and many more.

People that I met in Cappadocia

The souvenirs that can be found in Cappadocia

Tree of Eye Evil Bead that I found in Cappadocia

Eye Evil Bead. This symbol is commonly found in Turkey. It’s beleived as an amulet to protect against the Evil eye.

There are many places need to be explored, and all could not be done in two days. I hope I can visit Cappadocia again next time. Now, it’s time for heading to Pamukkale.

8 thoughts on “Things I Did in Cappadocia : Turkey Part 2

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  2. The underground city of Derinkuyu which means “deep well”, like Kaymakli, is one of the largest. It was opened in 1965. It is 70-85 m / 230-300 ft deep with 53 airshafts. The original ventilation system still functions remarkably well. It is not recommended that visitors having problems of claustrophobia or restricted movement go inside since there are many passageways where one has to squat. The first two floors under the surface housed a missionary school with two long rock-cut tables, baptismal place, kitchens, storehouses, living quarters, wine cellars and stables. Third and fourth floors were for the tunnels, places to hide and armories. The last floors had water wells, hidden passageways, a church, graves and a confession place.

    1. Nurul Fitri Lubis

      Hello Gold Price.. Thank for additional information. It will be usefull for me and other readers. And thanks for visiting my blog🙂

  3. I just want to say I am all new to weblog and absolutely savored you’re blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with amazing articles and reviews. With thanks for sharing with us your web-site.

Leave a Reply

